A Secret Soldier by D. E. Young

A Secret Soldier

I am a secret soldier,

a servant of the Cross,

ordained to pain and sorrow,

to agony and loss.

What cause have I to grumble

when You who went before

deserving naught but blessing

instead my burden bore?

Shall flogging, mocking, spitting

deter me from the Way?

What hope had I of glory

had You turned back that day?

It is enough for servants

their Lord to imitate.

Give grace and strength and patience

upon my Lord to wait.

But Oh! The prospect precious

when conflicts all are o’er

to gaze upon the Victor

forever, ever more.

September 2013

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian life, Poetry

Leave a Reply

