From the Trinity Psalter, Psalm 143

Psalm 143

(Sung to the tune of Fairest Lord Jesus)

Lord, hearken to my prayer; my supplication hear. Reply in truth and in righteousness.

And with Your servant now to judgment do not come, for in Your sight no man is just.

The foe has hounded me; My life to earth he crushed. Entombed he kept me as those long dead.

My spirit therefore faints, within me overwhelmed. My heart in me is desolate.

I days of old recall; I muse on all Your deeds; I ponder long what Your hands have wrought.

I stretch my hands to You; my soul longs after You as thirsts a dry and desert land.

Haste, Lord, to answer me! O how my spirit fails! Hide not the light of Your face from me,

Lest I become like those who to the pit go down. O let me not with them descend.

Let me Your mercy hear when morning light appears; I flee to You for my hiding place.

Teach me to know the way; show me how I should walk, for I lift up my soul to You.

Deliver me, O Lord, from all my enemies; that You may hide me I flee to You.

Teach me to do Your will; my God of Spirit good, O make me dwell in upright lands.

For Your name’s sake, O Lord, deal graciously with me; relieve my soul in Your righteousness.

My foes slay in Your grace; destroy my enemies, because I am Your servant true.

Leave a comment

Filed under Hymns, Poetry, Prayer

Leave a Reply

