A few thoughts from John Calvin’s commentary on John’s Gospel

This is an excerpt from John Calvin’s commentary on the Gospel According to John.

Then a great multitude followed Him, because they saw His signs which He performed on those who were diseased.           John 6:2

“Here we see, in the first place, how eager was the desire of the people to hear Christ, since all of them, forgetting themselves, take no concern about spending the night in a desert place. So much the less excusable is our indifference, or rather our sloth, when we are so far from preferring the heavenly doctrine to the gnawings of hunger, that the slightest interruptions immediately lead us away from meditation on the heavenly life. Very rarely does it happen that Christ finds us free and disengaged from the entanglements of the world. So far is every one of us from being ready to follow him to a desert mountain, that scarcely one in ten can endure to receive him, when he presents himself at home in the midst of comforts. And though this disease prevails nearly throughout the whole world, yet it is certain that no man will be fit for the kingdom of God until, laying aside such delicacy, he learn to desire the food of the soul so earnestly that his belly shall not hinder him.”

As I read this section, particularly the italicized portion(mine), I could not help but think how easily I am distracted from heavenly things. As I sit in my office, surrounded by the writings of godly men and especially the Word of God itself my mind is so easily distracted at a ding (notification) on my cell phone, or the things on my to do list or my computer sitting six feet from me that I struggle to spend any amount of time worshiping Him who loved me and washed me from my sins in His own blood.

Man’s nature is no different now then it was five hundred years ago when Mr. Calvin penned these words but thank God the remedy is still the same, “the blood of Jesus Christ His Son cleanses us from all sin”, blessed be the Name of the Lord!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book review, Christian life, Doctrine, Theology

Leave a Reply

