Luke 18:1-8 by D.E. Young

“Avenge me of my foe!”
So did the widow cry.
The judge, he was unjust
And passed the widow by.

Again she came, again,
And raised the same request.
He pondered what to do
To give himself some rest.

“Though I do not fear God
And men I disregard
I will adjudge this case
And give her her reward.

Lest with her constant pleas
She vex and trouble me.”
So he adjudged her case
And listened to her plea.

And shall not God above
When His elect He hears
Avenge them of their foes
And calm their many fears?

For day and night they cry
And though He hears above
In suff’ring long He waits
To save those of His love.

So, my soul, do not faint
But cry by night and day
That mercy be bestowed.
There is no other way.

July 2016

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian life, Doctrine, Poetry, Prayer, Theology

Leave a Reply

